1984 riots

In the 1984 riots, Sajjan Kumar was sentenced to life imprisonment after 34 years.

1984 riots: On one hand, the Congress, who returned to power with swearing in 3 states, was shocked at the 34-year-old Sikh riots when the Delhi High Court changed the decision of the lower court and convicted Sajjan Kumar for a massacre.

In a matter related to the 1984 Sikh riots, the double bench of Delhi High Court on Monday reversed the trial court judgment and convicted Sajjan Kumar for rioting and sentenced to life imprisonment. They have been found guilty of criminal conspiracy, violence and rioting.

3 others imprisoned for life(1984 riots)

In addition to the gentleman, the High Court has upheld the life sentence of Balwan Khokhar, Captain Bhagmal and Girdhari Lal. While pronouncing the sentence of 10-10 years jail sentence extended to former MLA Mahendra Yadav and Kishan Khokhar, Earlier, the trial court had sentenced Mahendra and Kishan to three years imprisonment.

After the High Court’s decision on the Sikh riots, Sajjan Kumar will have to surrender till December 31. The High Court is hearing its verdict on the other six cases. This is the first time that the 34-year-old gentleman has been convicted in this case.

This case is related to a massacre, in which five members of the same family were killed in the Rajanagar area of ​​Delhi Cantonment in November 1984. Congress leader Sajjan Kumar is also accused in this massacre

Decision placed on 29th October

On the same matter, the Bench of the High Court bench of Justice S. Murlidhar and Justice Vinod Goel had reserved their decision on October 29 after hearing arguments on the appeals filed by the CBI, victims and the culprits. The Delhi High Court has a total of 7 appeals, on which the Delhi High Court has to decide its verdict on Monday.

Earlier, in the 1984 Sikh Riots case, in 2013, Congress leader Sajjan Kumar was acquitted by the lower court, while others besides Sajjan Kumar had been convicted by the court. It included the former Congress Councilor Balwan Khokhar, Captain Bhagmal, Girdhari Lal and two others.

The court had convicted them in provoking the riots and sentenced former Congress councilor Balwan Khokhar, Bhagmal and Girdhari Lal to life imprisonment, while former MLA Mahendra Yadav and Kishan Khokhar were sentenced to three years’ imprisonment for three years. .

The lower court’s verdict was challenged by the culprits in the Delhi High Court. Apart from this, the CBI and the riot victims also filed an appeal in the high court against the decision of the lower court to acquit Congress leader Sajjan Kumar and all the culprits including Sajjan Kumar had alleged that these people were behind the inciting of the riots.

Sikh Committees want to thank  Manjeet Singh Gk, the head of the Delhi Committee. Those who did not allow this case to be over by putting their full strength and bringing it to the last stage.

Read also this
After The Supreme Court’s Rafale Decision Slogans Against Rahul In Parliament, Rahul Gandhi Apologize’

652 total views, 1 views today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.